Le Concours international

See the artistic committee

See the Prize Winners since 1971

See the Jurys since 1971

article-imageIn 1971, with the support of André Malraux, Minister of Culture, the association created the international organ competition “Grand Prix de Chartres” which quickly became the most prestigious and most famous competitions in the world. This biennial competition reserved for organists under 35 years, collected and federated more than 1000 candidates from all over the world, tens of winners including 33 Grands Prix, most prominent jury members, the unanimous support of an entire profession and of the public.

The competition of Chartres in its field represents “the Olympics of the organ” : be admitted to the competition is the primary objective of all young organist. It is now essential springboard for an international career. The judges are undisputed masters of the organ, internationally renowned concert artists, teachers of schools and universities. In 45 years, the competition has received 144 jurors (88 foreign and 56 French).

The competition includes tests of interpretation and improvisation, an art in which organists perpetuate a secular tradition, and awards in each discipline, a great price and a second prize, and an audience prize and various other prizes.

Assorted numerous awards including seventy commitments in the highest places of the organ and major festivals around the world (Europe, USA, South America, Canada, South Africa, Korea, Japan, Russia, etc. …). All successful candidates undertook an international career.

The winners are the ambassadors of Chartres and sponsors who support them, contributing their talent and international career to the reputation of the association and its partners.

A prestigious artistic committee guarantees the excellence of the competition level. Composed of French organists and most prominent foreigners, holders of teaching chairs and the most prestigious organs, the artistic committee supports the action of the association with the world of culture, institutions and public opinion. Through its members, the association is in permanent contact with international life of the organ.

Serving heritage and creation, the association shall disseminate the great works of the repertoire and the creation of new works. The association has ordered ten works of French composers, and has promoted young composers such as Thierry Escaich, Valéry Aubertin.

A global event, national and regional : public finals are an international event that brings together and unites a large audience, and a host of personalities and music lovers who are passionate about this major international tournament.

The promotion of young talents, launching an international career, such results are recognized by our partners and the cultural world. Number of winners, and selected candidates are now holders of the most famous organs (Notre-Dame de Paris, the Basilique du Sacré-Cœur, Saint Denis Basilica, Saint Antoine des Quinze Vingt, Sainte Clotilde, Saint Étienne du -Mont, St. Severin, St. Sulpice, Trinité, to name noly Paris) and teaching in the major music conservatories and universities (Paris, Lyon, Strasbourg, Germany, USA, Great Britain, Hungary, Sweden etc …).

Le Concours international

Voir le comité artistique

Voir la liste des Lauréats depuis 1971

Voir la liste des Jurys depuis 1971

article-image En 1971, avec le soutien d’André Malraux, Ministre de la Culture, l’association crée le concours international d’orgue « Grand Prix de Chartres » qui devient rapidement le concours le plus prestigieux et le plus célèbre du monde. Ce concours bisannuel, réservé aux organistes de moins de 35 ans, a rassemblé et fédéré 1000 candidats du monde entier, des dizaines de lauréats dont 33 Grands Prix, les membres du jury les plus éminents, le soutien unanime de toute une profession et du public.

Le concours de Chartres représente dans son domaine « les jeux olympiques de l’orgue » : y être admis à concourir représente l’objectif premier de tout jeune organiste. Il est aujourd’hui le tremplin incontournable d’une carrière internationale. Les membres du jury sont des maîtres incontestés de l’orgue, concertistes de notoriété internationale, professeurs des grandes écoles et universités. En 45 ans, le concours a accueilli 144 jurés (88 étrangers et 56 français).

Le concours comporte des épreuves d’interprétation et d’improvisation, un art dans lequel les organistes perpétuent une tradition séculaire, et décerne dans chaque discipline un grand prix et un second prix, ainsi qu’un prix du public et divers autres prix.

Assorti de nombreuses récompenses et notamment de soixante dix engagements dans les plus hauts lieux de l’orgue et dans les grands festivals du monde (Europe, États-Unis, Amérique du Sud, Canada, Afrique du Sud, Corée, Japon, Russie, etc… ). Tous les lauréats du concours ont entrepris une carrière internationale.

Les lauréats du concours sont les ambassadeurs de Chartres et des mécènes qui les soutiennent, contribuant par leur talent et leur carrière internationale à la notoriété de l’association et de ses partenaires.

Un comité artistique prestigieux garantit le niveau d’excellence du concours. Composé des organistes français et étrangers les plus éminents, titulaires des chaires d’enseignement et des tribunes les plus prestigieuses, le comité artistique conforte l’action de l’association auprès du monde culturel, des institutions et de l’opinion publique. Par le biais de ses membres, l’association est au contact permanent de la vie internationale de l’orgue.

Au service du patrimoine et de la création, l’association assure la diffusion des grandes œuvres du répertoire ainsi que la création d’œuvres nouvelles. L’association a ainsi commandé dix œuvres à des compositeurs français, et a assuré la promotion de jeunes compositeurs tels que Thierry Escaich, Valéry Aubertin.

Un événement mondial, national et régional : les finales du concours constituent un évènement international qui rassemble et fédère un nombreux public, et une foule de personnalités et de mélomanes qui se passionnent pour ce grand tournoi international.

La promotion des jeunes talents, le lancement d’une carrière internationale, tels sont les résultats reconnus par nos partenaires et le monde culturel. Nombre de lauréats, et de candidats sélectionnés, sont aujourd’hui titulaires des orgues les plus célèbres (Notre-Dame de Paris, Basilique du Sacré-Cœur, Basilique Saint-Denis, Saint Antoine des Quinze Vingt, Saint Clotilde, Saint Étienne-du-Mont, Saint-Séverin, Saint- Sulpice, La Trinité, pour ne citer que Paris) et enseignent dans les plus importants conservatoires de musique et universités (Paris, Lyon, Strasbourg, Allemagne, États-Unis, Grande-Bretagne, Hongrie, Suède etc…).