Clyde HOLLOWAY

Clyde HOLLOWAYClyde Holloway came to prominence in 1964 when he won the National Young Artists Competition of the American Guild of Organists in Philadelphia. This achievement inaugurated a distinguished concert career that continues to receive high acclaim throughout the United States where he performs under the auspices of Karen McFarlane Artists. He has performed for numerous National and Regional Conventions of the American Guild of Organists and has appeared in recital in Mexico City, the West Indies and Europe.

Dr. Holloway earned degrees from the University of Oklahoma and Union Theological Seminary where he was a student of Mildred Andrews and Robert Baker, respectively. The title of his doctoral dissertation was The Organ Works of Olivier Messiaen and Their Importance In His Total Oeuvre, a volume which remains one of the foremost monographs concerning this music. During this extensive study he worked with the composer on several occasions, examined his works at the organ of the Church of the Holy Trinity in Paris and performed under his supervision. As a Fulbright Scholar at the Amsterdam Conservatory, he has worked with Gustav Leonhardt in the study of organ, harpsichord and chamber music.

Dr. Holloway began his teaching career in 1965 as the youngest member of the faculty of the Indiana University School of Music. In 1977, he joined the faculty of The Shepherd School of Music at Rice University where, in addition to establishing the organ program, he has served as Chairman of the Keyboard Department and Director of Graduate Studies. Dr. Holloway’s students have been particularly successful as teacher, church musicians, recitalists and recording artists. As Organist and Choirmaster of Christ Church Cathedral in Houston for many years, he directed one of the prominent church music programs in the country. In June of 1993, he was named Honorary Lay Canon and Organist and Choirmaster Emeritus.

Renowned as a gifted pedagogue, Dr. Holloway has served on the Committee for Professional Education of the American Guild of Organists and has addressed two biennial conferences of the National Conference on Organ Pedagogy, founded in 1982. He is in demand as a leader of workshops, master classes and as an adjudicator for competitions. He has served as a member of the jury for numerous competitions including the Concours de Europe, the Fort Wayne Competition, The Music Teachers National Association Competition, the National Young Artists Competition of The American Guild of Organists and the Grand Prix de Chatres. In 1994 he was invited to perform for the Bicentennial Festival of the celebrated Clicquot organ in the Cathedral of Poitiers, France, and to serve as a member of the jury for the international competition held at the end of the ten-day festival.

† 2014.  He was 77 years old.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Clyde HOLLOWAY

Clyde HOLLOWAYClyde Holloway s’est fait connaître en 1964 lorsqu’il a remporté le Concours national des jeunes artistes de la Guilde américaine des organistes à Philadelphie, inaugurant une carrière de concertiste distingué qui continue de recevoir des éloges de tous les États-Unis où il exerce sous les auspices de Karen McFarlane Artists. Il a joué pour de nombreux congrès nationaux et régionaux de la Guilde américaine des organistes et s’est produit en récital à Mexico, dans les Antilles et en Europe.

Clyde Holloway est diplômé de l’Université de l’Oklahoma et de l’Union Theological Seminary, où il fut l’élève de Mildred Andrews et Robert Baker. Le titre de sa thèse de doctorat portait sur L’intégrale pour orgue d’Olivier Messiaen et son importance dans son œuvre totale, un volume qui reste l’un des plus importants concernant les monographies de cette musique. Au cours de cette étude approfondie, il a travaillé avec le compositeur à plusieurs reprises, examiné et joué ses œuvres sous son contrôle, à l’orgue de l’église de la Sainte Trinité à Paris. En tant que boursier Fulbright au Conservatoire d’Amsterdam, il a travaillé avec Gustav Leonhardt à l’étude de l’orgue, du clavecin et de la musique de chambre.

Le Dr Holloway a commencé sa carrière d’enseignant en 1965 comme le plus jeune membre du corps professoral de l’École de Indiana University. En 1977, il rejoint le corps professoral de l’École de musique Shepherd de l’Université Rice, où, en plus d’établir le programme de l’orgue, il a servi comme président du Département du clavier et directeur des études supérieures. Les étudiants de Clyde Holloway ont particulièrement bien réussi en tant qu’enseignants, musiciens d’église, récitalistes, et artistes. Comme organiste et maître de chapelle de la cathédrale Christ Church à Houston pendant de nombreuses années, il a dirigé l’un des plus importants programmes de musique d’église dans le pays. En Juin 1993, il a été nommé honoraire Lay Canon et organiste et maître de chapelle émérite.

Reconnu comme un pédagogue doué, Clyde Holloway a siégé au Comité de la formation professionnelle de la Guilde américaine des organistes et a abordé deux conférences biennales de la Conférence nationale sur la pédagogie orgue, fondée en 1982. Il est demandé en tant que chef de file des ateliers et des master-class et à titre d’arbitre pour les compétitions. Il a servi en tant que membre du jury de nombreux concours, dont le Concours de l’Europe, la concurrence Fort Wayne, The Music Teachers National Association de la concurrence, le Concours national des jeunes artistes de la Guilde américaine des organistes, et le Grand Prix de Chartres. En 1994, il a été invité à se produire au Festival du bicentenaire de l’orgue Clicquot célèbre dans la cathédrale de Poitiers, en France, et de servir en tant que membre du jury de la compétition internationale qui s’est tenue ensuite.

† 2014 à 77 ans.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *